Amagansett Historical Sites
1. MISS AMELIA'S COTTAGE - Built in 1725, this cottage stands on the property owned
by the founders of Amagansett, Abraham and Jacob Schellinger. Located on Main Street, it
houses a museum with Colonial furnishings and a rare Dominy clock. On the rear of the
property is the Roy K. Lester Carriage Museum. Both museums are operated by the Amagansett
2. EAST HAMPTON TOWN MARINE
MUSEUM - Perched overlooking the ocean on Bluff Road in Amagansett, the Marine
Museum depicts the history of whaling and fishing on Eastern Long Island. Extensive
exhibits feature whaling artifacts donated by local families and dioramas of the various
fishing techniques unique to this area. Outside, children can even climb on the
"jungle-gym" trawler. Programs at this museum are administered by the East
Hampton Historical Society.
Village Historical District
1. TOWN POND - Once a watering place
for East Hampton's cattle, today it is an integral part of the East Hampton Historic
2. SOUTH END CEMETERY - Adjacent to
the Town Pond, this cemetery once formed the church yard for East Hampton's first meeting
house which stood on the north side. The oldest burying ground in the Town of East
Hampton, it contains tombstones dating back to the 17th century.
3. THE VILLAGE GREEN - The Common, where village cattle
once grazed, originally stretched from the edge of Town Pond to the Hook Mill Green. A
cart track on one side of the green was the principal highway through town. Picket fences
in the front of the Main Street houses kept cattle from straying. The Green was paved in
the business district in the the early 1900's. The lower portion was kept intact, and
today forms the center of East Hampton's Historic District.
4. THE FLAG POLE - The Liberty Pole
was originally located in front of the Huntting Inn in the 18th century. When the green on
which it stood was paved in the early 1900's, the flag pole was moved to the east end of
the present Village Green.
5. HOME SWEET HOME
6. MULFORD FARM - For three centuries this house was
the center of a working farm. In the late 1940's the house was saved from destruction and
given to the East Hampton Historical Society. Open during the summer months, the Mulford
Farm's house and barn offer visitors a fascinating glimpse into the past of East Hampton.
7. Guild Hall
- A gift of Mrs. Lorenzo P. Woodhouse to East Hampton, Guild Hall opened in 1932 and is an
outstanding art museum and well respected theatrical house. The building contains the
famous John Drew Theater, three art galleries, the museum's art collections and gardens.
It receives over 80,000 visitors each year. 324-0806.
8. EAST HAMPTON LIBRARY - Founded in 1897, the East Hampton Library moved to
its present location at the corner of Main Street and Buell Lane in 1912, on
land donated by Mary Lorenzo Woodhouse. The original building was built
with money donated by the Woodhouses. The Library has had 7 building
projects through the years to meet the needs of the residents all which were
paid for by private donations. The Library offers many services, all of
which are free and available for residents of all ages. Services include
certified Librarians providing research assistance, educational programs,
Internet access, database subscriptions, a collection of more than 100,000
items and much more. The Long Island Collection of the Library offers
researchers, genealogists and residents a wealth of material on early East
Hampton history. www.easthamptonlibrary.org 324-0222
9. CLINTON ACADEMY - Built in 1784, it
was the first chartered secondary school in New York State. Now under the direction of the
East Hampton Historical Society, it is used for exhibitions, lectures and other
10. TOWN HOUSE - Build in 1731, this
small building originally stood opposite the present Presbyterian Church on Main Street.
It has served as a schoolhouse, a Town Hall and even a jail and is owned by the East
Hampton Historical Society.
11. OSBORN-JACKSON HOUSE - This
Colonial house, built in 1740, is the East Hampton Historical Society's administrative
12. HOOK MILL - Built by Nathaniel Dominy IV in 1806,
it incorporates the original main post of the 1736 Hook Mill. This picturesque mill is
kept in working order by the Village of East Hampton. A marvel of wood technology, the
mill is open to the public for tours during the summer months.